Local Colleges Alaska

Local Colleges and Universities in Alaska

Colleges North America

Top Universities in Alaska

Below is a list of top-ranked colleges and universitiies in the state of Alaska.

Alaska is a U.S. state situated in the northwest extremity of the North American continent and is close to Europe. See a full list of countries in Europe >>.

There are 11 colleges and universities in the state of Alaska. Refer to the following table to find local schools in Alaska sorted by university name. If you are interested, you can follow the link below to see its specific information. Please understand that all higher educational programs in Alaska are listed here in alphabetical order.

School Name Location Address/Zip Code*
Alaska Pacific University Private not-for-profit, 4-year or above in Anchorage, AK 4101 University Dr
Anchorage, AK 99508
Alaska Vocational Technical Center Public, less-than-2-year in Seward, AK 809 Second Avenue
Seward, AK 99664-0889
Career Academy Private for-profit, less-than-2-year in Anchorage, AK 1415 E Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507-1033
Charter College Private for-profit, 4-year or above in Anchorage, AK 2221 E Northern Lights Blvd Ste 120
Anchorage, AK 99508
Ilisagvik College Public, 2-year in Barrow, AK Narl Facility
Barrow, AK 99723
Prince William Sound Community College Public, 2-year in Valdez, AK 303 Lowe Street
Valdez, AK 99686
Sheldon Jackson College Private not-for-profit, 4-year or above in Sitka, AK 801 Lincoln Street
Sitka, AK 998357699
University of Alaska Anchorage Public, 4-year or above in Anchorage, AK 3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
University of Alaska Fairbanks Public, 4-year or above in Fairbanks, AK 215 Signers’ Hall
Fairbanks, AK 99775-7480
University of Alaska Southeast Public, 4-year or above in Juneau, AK 11120 Glacier Highway
Juneau, AK 99801-8697

Juneau, Alaska

Juneau is the capital of the state of Alaska in the United States. The town is located on the Gastineau Channel in the southern fjord landscape of the state and is named after gold digger Joe Juneau who discovered major deposits in the area.

The town was originally called Rockwell, then Harrisburg. When Juneau merged with Douglas in 1970 on an island across the canal, it became the second largest city in the United States with its approximately 8427 km 2 (nearly as large as the states of Delaware and Rhode Island combined). The United States’ largest city by far is also located in Alaska – the former state capital of Sitka.

The port of Juneau is ice-free year-round and much of the economy is based on the fishing and fishing industry as well as growing tourism. Juneau is the seat of a university (founded in 1972) and the Alaska State Museum.


Juneau was founded in 1880 after rich gold finds in the area, and in 1906 took over as the state capital of Sitka. The mining operation ceased in 1944. The lack of expansion opportunities and the location in an earthquake zone led to the designation of an uninhabited area further north in 1976 at Anchorage for the construction of a new capital. But at the opening of the large oil pipeline from Prudhoe Bay – the Trans Alaska Pipeline – in 1977, activity and population increased sharply.

Fairbanks, Alaska

Fairbanks is a city in the state of Alaska in the United States. The city is located in south-central Alaska by the Chena River, a tributary to Tanana, 640 kilometers north of Anchorage. With 31,644 residents, Fairbanks is Alaska’s largest inland city. The metropolitan area The Fairbanks North Star Borough is, with 99,703 residents, Alaska’s second most populous (U.S. Census, 2017).

Fairbanks is the gateway to Alaska’s central plateau and end point for the Alaska Railroad. The Alaskan road passes the city. The climate is subarctic. During the winter, Fairbanks is the coldest major city in the United States.


The funnel is an important area for mining (gold, silver, brown coal and lignite coal), timber trade and fur trade. Fairbanks is an important supply center for oil production. Tourism generates large revenues.

History and culture

The remains of a 3500 year old indigenous settlement based on hunting and fishing are excavated. Fairbanks was founded in 1901 after significant gold finds and is named after Senator (later Vice President) Charles Warren Fairbanks. The Fort Wainwright defense facility was founded as Ladd Army Corps Field in 1938 and Eielson Air Force Base dates from 1943.

The University of Alaska Fairbanks with its museum dates from 1917 and is located five miles northwest of the city.

Tourist attractions include the annual Tanana Raft Classic boat and rafting competitions and the Yukon 800 River Boat Race. The city is a center for cross-country sports in Alaska.

Anchorage, Alaska

Anchorage is the largest city in the state of Alaska in the United States, with 294,356 residents (U.S. Census, 2017), and is located on the Cook Inlet threshold. The city, together with the county of Matanuska-Susitna, constitutes a larger urban region with approximately 402,000 residents – just over 54 percent of Alaska’s population. Anchorage is a friendship town with Tromsø.


Although Juneau is the official capital of the state of Alaska, there are more government employees in Anchorage (about 6800) than in Juneau (about 3800). There is considerable oil activity associated with local oil deposits at Cook Inlet, and at the large oil discoveries in Prudhoe Bay on Alaska’s north coast in 1968, activity increased further in Anchorage. The city also has other industries, including fish canned salmon.

The city is an important communications center. The international airport – Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport (TSAIA) – is the world’s fifth busiest airport for freight transport, only bypassed by Hong Kong, Memphis, Shanghai and Seoul. The traffic is mainly due to the city’s location along direct routes between Asia and the United States. The city became an important base for the airline SAS when Polruten (Copenhagen-Anchorage-Tokyo) opened in 1957.


Anchorage became the headquarters for the construction of the Alaska Railroad in 1914–1923 and gained city status in 1920. The city grew very rapidly after the command of the defense of Alaska was established here during World War II. Anchorage also has several military bases, including Elmendorf and Fort Richardson, which were merged with the Kulis Air National Guard Base in 2005 and is the workplace for more than 8500 military and civilians.

A powerful earthquake in 1964 destroyed 30 blocks, killed nine people and injured hundreds. Two years after the quake, more people lived in the city than before the accident.

Education and culture

Anchorage Community College was established in 1954, and from 1976 became the State University – University of Alaska Anchorage. Anchorage is the starting point for the world’s longest sled dog race, the Iditarod.

Local Colleges Alaska