Local Colleges and Universities
Europe Africa Central America South America
Asia Oceania North America  

You are here: Home > Asia > Turkmenistan


Turkmenistan is one of the former countries of the Soviet Union, which is still populated by nomadic tribes today.

President Niyazov has been in power since the Turkmen declaration of independence in 1991. He was named President for Life in 1999.

Turkmenistan is a very dry country in Central Asia, about 85% is covered by desert. Due to the old nomadic tradition and the strong earthquake in 1948, there are no historical buildings in Turkmenistan.


The Turkmen culture is shaped by Islam and affects all areas of daily life.

Name of the country Republic of Turkmenistan
Form of government Presidential Republic
Location Southernmost of the Central Asian states
Population Approx. 6.7 million residents (Credit: Countryaah: Turkmenistan Population)
Ethnicities 77.0% Turkmen,

9.2% Uzbeks,

6.7% Russians,

2% Kazakhs,

1.1% Tatars, 0.8% each of Armenians, Azerbaijanis, Beludis, 0.5% Ukrainians

Religions approx. 90% Sunnis, Christians, small Jewish and Baha'i communities, 9% members of the Russian Orthodox Church.
Languages Turkmen, Russian
Capital Ashgabat
Surface 488,100 km²
Highest mountain Gora Ayribaba with 3,139 m
Longest river Amu Darya with a length of 2580 km
Largest lake in area Sarikamisch Lake
International license plate TM
National currency Turkmenistani manat (TMM) = 100 tenge
Time difference to CET + 3 h
International phone code + 993
Voltage frequency 220 volts, 50 hertz
Internet TLD (Top Level Domain) .tm

Turkmenistan: history

Turkmenistan until around the year 1000

In 642 the Arabs conquered what is now Turkmenistan and made the city of Merw one of their main settlements in the region. The Oghuz settling in the area between the Caspian Sea and the Aral Sea were first referred to as Turkoman or Turkmen during this period.

Turkmenistan from the year 1000 to the 16th century

According to Abbreviationfinder website, in the 11th century the Seljuk Empire was founded with its center in Merw. Genghis Khan conquered Central Asia in the 13th century and destroyed Turkmenistan in the process. As a result, the Turkmens came under the influence of the Timurids in the 14th century.

Turkmenistan: history

Turkmenistan from the 17th to the 19th centuries

The territory of the Turkmen tribes was practically constantly contested between the Persian shahs, the khans of Khiva, the emirs of Bukhara and the rulers of Afghanistan during the 17th - 19th centuries.

In 1867 - 1882, the Russian general von Kaufmann conquered large parts of Central Asia and organized the General Government of Turkestan, subjugating the area to the Turkmen tribes.

In 1881 Russian troops conquered all of Turkmenistan.

20th century until today

In 1917 workers 'and soldiers' councils took power in Turkmenistan.

As a result, the proclamation of the Autonomous Socialist Republic of Turkestan (ASRT) was proclaimed in 1918. In the same year there was civil war and Turkmenistan was briefly occupied by British troops.

In 1924 the ASR Turkestan was divided into the Turkmen Soviet Socialist Republic (TSSR) along with other Central Asian Soviet republics.

From 1928 to 1932 there was the forced collectivization of agriculture and permanent settlement of the Turkmen nomads, which led to the establishment of a resistance movement which was suppressed with extreme severity by the Soviet authorities.

In 1948, the Turkmen capital Ashgabat was almost completely destroyed by a magnitude 9 earthquake.

The Turkmen declaration of sovereignty took place in 1990. In 1991, the declaration of independence also took place.

In 1999 the People's Council extended the first electoral term of President Niyazov, who had been in power since 1992, to an unlimited period, which equates to an appointment as president for life.

The appointment of President Niyazov as President of the People's Council for life followed in 2003.





Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Denmark Czech Republic
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco
Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

Central America

South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Bahamas Barbados
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Togo Tunisia


Cuba British Virgin Islands
Uganda Zambia Australia American Samoa Costa Rica Curacao
Zimbabwe   Cook Islands Easter Island Dominica Dominican Republic

South America

Fiji Falkland Islands Ecuador El Salvador
Argentina Bolivia Guam French Polynesia Guadeloupe Guatemala
Brazil Chile Kiribati Marshall Islands Haiti Honduras
Colombia French Guiana Micronesia Nauru Jamaica Martinique
Guyana Nicaragua New Caledonia New Zealand Montserrat Panama
Paraguay Peru Niue Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico Saba
Uruguay Venezuela Palau Pitcairn   Trinidad and Tobago

North America

Samoa Papua New Guinea    
Canada Greenland Tokelau Solomon Islands    
Mexico United States Tonga Tuvalu    
    Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna    

AL | AK | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI | ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS | MO

MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR | PA | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Home | Community Colleges | Distance Learning All Right Reserved Copyright 2021 Local College Explorer